Let us look at what data we can save on Microsoft Teams. Here’s how to Recover a deleted file from Microsoft teams.
All of the files and documents in the Files tab in a Teams are stored in the SharePoint site that works in the background and simply made accessible in Teams. You must note that personal chat files are stored in OneDrive.
For recovering content which means that all the same rules that apply to files in SharePoint will apply to files in Teams.
We have access to the version history for the files and we can recover a deleted file from Microsoft Teams for 93 days from the Recycle Bin. From the Teams file tab on the screen, click on Open in SharePoint in the menu to launch the Document Library in your SharePoint. From here you will see the typical SharePoint Document Library.
Now it’s quite easy and fast to check the version history, restore the earlier version, or even head into the Recycle Bin to recover a deleted item. Of course, the Permissions apply as they always do in SharePoint and you will need to have the appropriate permission levels to recover version history or recover files from the Recycle Bin.
The conversations or chats history are not recoverable directly, but they can be searched and audited on Microsoft.
With the help of eDiscovery processes, people with the right permissions can find chat history and even manually download them. This will allow them to re-upload them one at a time to Teams, but that likely is not worth the effort it takes.
If you want to preserve your chat history, you can take help of eDiscovery, Legal Holds, or Retention policies to keep them available and searchable even after they are deleted in Teams. This will give you some protection from the end-users deleting messages that may be important.
Unfortunately, one cannot restore tabs, connectors or bots at this time. If you delete one of these from the channel, it is gone forever.
A tab, connector or bot has to be added back manually and then reconfigured again.
It is in most situations just the tab or the connector withdrawn from the channel and is likely to remain on the underlying resource. So, adding them back to the channel and re-configuring shouldn’t be too much work.
There are also some of the settings for a Team that can prevent the users from deleting these, but it will also prevent them from creating or even updating them. There is always a line between protecting data and the autonomy that is needed for collaboration that needs to be carefully weighed. If they limit a user’s ability to add and update tabs and connectors in Microsoft Teams may prove to be counterproductive and too limiting. This will result in unhappy customers or creates even more requests to IT to help set up simple tabs or connectors in potentially hundreds of Teams.
It is best to let users self-manage Teams while keeping a stricter control over organization-wide Teams or Channels where appropriate.
As mentioned that, While the conversations and other data in Microsoft Teams are stored in Exchange and SharePoint respectively, the Channels themselves are easily restored directly inside the Team settings. Once you delete a channel, it is moved into the deleted section in the Channel tab. The deleted channel will remain here for 21 days and can be recovered by Team owners and members by default.
You can find the Channel tab under the “Manage team” setting for that Team. You should expand the Deleted section and click the Restore button on the far right for the Channel you want to restore. This will recover the Channel and all the conversations and content from that Channel.
In such a situation you should not panic. We can recover the entire Team and all content that is associated with it. If you are not the owner of the Team, this will require help from your Global or Group Administrators.
When an entire Team is deleted, it is the Microsoft 365 group that has been deleted along with all it’s associated content such as:
To recover a deleted file from Microsoft teams, follow the steps mentioned below:
So, this was our article on ways to recover a deleted file from Microsoft teams.